Police, protesters clash in demonstration against religious leaders’ arrests in Karachi

KARACHI: Police and protesters clashed in Malir 15 area during a demonstration on Monday against the recent arrests of religious and political leaders.

Police pelted tear gas shells at the protesters who had blocked traffic at the National Highway. The protesters hurled stones at police and even blocked a train on its tracks. They also hauled a heavy trawler and blocked Jinnah Avenue, obstructing traffic flow.

School children had to return home early morning as they got stuck in a traffic jam. Traffic at the National Highway was also suspended after the incident.

Police apprehended four protesters during the clash, which started around 7 AM today and is still ongoing.


Law enforcement agencies (LEAs) rounded up Majlis-e-Wahdat-e-Muslimeen leader Allama Syed Ahmed Iqbal in a search operation on Monday. At least seven people were arrested and 20 detained in the overnight raids conducted by police and Rangers.

LEAs also took into custody Taj Hanif, leader of the banned Ahle Sunnat Wal Jamat (ASWJ), on Sunday. Earlier the authorities had apprehended Allama Mirza Yousuf Hussain along with nearly 40 suspects in overnight raids in Karachi.

Hussain – a prominent scholar – was taken into custody from Nazimabad area of the metropolis and moved to an undisclosed location for interrogation. Charges against him were not immediately known.

Meanwhile a local court on Sunday sent former senator Faisal Raza Abidi to prison on judicial remand till Nov 19.

A case was registered against Abidi at Sachal police station for ‘illegal possession’ of weapons on Sunday. According to investigative officials, five different kinds of illegally possessed weapons were recovered from his residence in Karachi.

Abidi was arrested from his residence in New Rizvia Society on Friday on charges of a target-killing incident in Patel Para in which two people were killed.

Abidi, known for his firebrand speeches for his former party, Pakistan People’s Party, resigned from the Senate in 2014.

کیٹاگری میں : d

اس خبر پر اپنی رائے کا اظہار کریں